School Lane, Ampney Crucis, Cirencester, Gloucestershire GL7 5SD
 01285 851440  |

The Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage

The pupils in Reception follow the curriculum for the Early Years Foundation Stage. This curriculum underpins all future learning by supporting and developing the pupils’ skills in the three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three characteristics of effective learning.

The prime areas of learning:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning:

  • playing and exploring
  • active learning
  • creating and thinking critically

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum, which is followed by pupils in years 1-6, identifies the core subjects that form a major part of the school’s teaching programme. These are English, Maths, Science, Religious Education and Information and ICT. In addition, there are ‘foundation’ subjects of History, Geography, Art, Music, Design and Technology and Physical Education.

We follow the National Curriculum, but seek to educate more broadly and beyond its limits wherever possible we offer Personal, Social and Health Education, whole-class and individual instrumental tuition. In addition, we offer a rich variety of opportunities for sport,drama and presentation.

Careful long and medium term planning by staff ensures that there is continuity and progression in the children’s learning and that work is appropriately differentiated for their needs.

The professional expertise of the staff is developed through reflection and professional development opportunities.

Read the full Curriculum document here:

Downloadable Documents: